**Canadian Wheat Board.** The Board was incorporated in 1935 under the Canadian Wheat Board Act (RSC 1970, c.C-12) to market, in an orderly manner, in the interprovincial and export trade, grain grown in Canada. Its powers include authority to buy, take delivery of, store, transfer, sell, ship or otherwise dispose of grain. Except as directed by the Governor in Council, the Board was not originally authorized to buy grain other than wheat but, since August 1, 1949, it may also buy oats and barley if authorized to do so by Regulation approved by the Governor in Council. Only grain produced in the designated area, which includes Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and parts of British Columbia is purchased by the Board, which controls the delivery of grain into elevators and railway cars in that area as well as the interprovincial movement and export of wheat, oats and barley generally. The Board reports to Parliament through a designated Minister, at present the Minister of Justice.

**Cape Breton Development Corporation.** This Corporation was created by an Act of Parliament, assented to on July 7, 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-13) and came into existence by proclamation on October 1, 1967, as a proprietary Crown corporation. The Corporation was established to rationalize the coal industry of Cape Breton Island and to broaden the base of the area's economy by assisting the financing and development of industry to provide employment outside the coal mines.

The Cape Breton Development Corporation acquired the former interests of the major coal producer in the Sydney coalfield and is operating three of those mines and developing one new mine. It is actively engaged in development of the tourist industry as well as primary products and various secondary industries.

The Act provides for a board of directors, comprising a chairman, a president and five other directors. Head office is located in Sydney, NS. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Regional Economic Expansion. Its operations are financed by the Government of Canada.

Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation. This Corporation was incorporated by Act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c.46) in December 1945 to administer the National Housing Acts. Under the National Housing Act, 1954 (RSC 1970, c.C-16), the Corporation insures mortgage loans made by approved lenders for new and existing housing and makes direct loans in resource communities and rural areas; guarantees home improvement loans made by banks; undertakes subsidized rental housing projects and land assembly developments under federal-provincial arrangements; offers loans and subsidies for public housing projects; makes loans for land assembly projects to be used for general residential development; makes loans to individuals or organizations for low-rental housing projects; makes loans for student housing and to provinces and municipalities with provincial concurrence for sewage treatment projects designed to eliminate water and soil pollution; makes contributions and loans to provinces and municipalities for urban renewal operations; conducts housing research; encourages urban planning; and owns and manages rental housing units including those built for war workers and veterans. The Corporation arranges for and supervises construction of housing projects on behalf of the Department of National Defence and other government departments and agencies. It is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of State for Urban Affairs.

**Columbia River Treaty Permanent Engineering Board.** The Permanent Engineering Board, consisting of two Canadians and two Americans, was established under Article XV of the 1964 Columbia River Treaty between Canada and the United States. The Board assembles records, inspects and reports at least annually with respect to matters within the scope of the Treaty. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

**Commissioner of Official Languages.** Appointed by Parliament pursuant to the Official Languages Act (RSC 1970, c.O-2), the Commissioner holds office for a term of seven years, renewable until age 65. He is responsible to Parliament for ensuring recognition of the equal status of French and English as Canada's official languages and for ensuring compliance with the spirit and intent of the Act in all the institutions of the Parliament and Government of Canada. To this end, the Commissioner is empowered to receive and investigate complaints from the public, and, on his own initiative, to conduct investigations into possible violations of the Act. The results of investigations must be communicated to the complainants and the institutions concerned and may, at the Commissioner's discretion, be the subject of a special report to Parliament. The Commissioner reports annually to Parliament on the conduct of his Office and may make recommendations for changes in the Act as he deems necessary or desirable.

**Commonwealth War Graves Commission.** The Commission operates under the Original Charter of Incorporation dated May 21, 1917 and the new Supplemental Charter dated June 8, 1964. Under these the Commission is entrusted with the marking and maintaining in perpetuity of the graves of those of the British Empire and Commonwealth Armed Forces who died during World Wars 1 and II. The Canadian High Commissioner in London, England is the official Commission member for Canada and the Minister of Veterans Affairs is the Agent of the Commission in Canada.

**Company of Young Canadians.** Established in 1966 as a Crown corporation (RSC 1970, c,C-26), the Company of Young Canadians is a collection of full-time volunteers between the ages of 18 and 28, who work with community groups on projects concerned with legal aid, welfare rights, day care, native rights,